Welcome to the website of the Serbian Crystallographic Society


The activity of the former Yugoslav Centre of Crystallography in the territory of the Republic of Serbia was further continued through the work of the Serbian Crystallographic Society (SCS). The founding assembly of SCS was held on May 7th, 1992 at the Faculty of Mining and Geology, University of Belgrade. The first elected president was Bela Ribar, vice-president Ilija Krstanović and secretary Ljiljana Karanović. The other members of first SCS committee were: Bogdan Prelesnik, Slobodanka Stanković, Svetislav Janjić and Dobrica Stojanović. The First Conference of the SCS was held in Belgrade in 1992. In the next year, at the 16th General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) in Beijing, China, SCS was accepted as a member of the IUCr. Between II and III Conference SCS become a member of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA).

Nowadays, within the SCS, several groups of crystallographers at universities (Belgrade, Novi Sad, Kragujevac) and at the Institute of Nuclear Sciences Vinča” in several independent laboratories for crystallography exist. In addition to mineralogy, crystallographic research groups in chemistry, physics and materials science were grown.

>> Read more here